Read Voices from Chernobyl by Ingrid Storholmen Free Online

Ebook Voices from Chernobyl by Ingrid Storholmen read! Book Title: Voices from Chernobyl
The author of the book: Ingrid Storholmen
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 636 KB
City - Country: No data
Loaded: 1538 times
Reader ratings: 3.5
Edition: HarperCollins
Date of issue: 2009
ISBN: No data
ISBN 13: No data
Language: English

Read full description of the books:

April 26th, 1986. Overnight, things fell apart in a quiet Ukrainian town. The steam generator of Reactor Four at the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Station malfunctioned during an experiment to produce electricity from residual energy, bringing on an explosion. The resulting blaze lasted several days, casting huge quantities of radioactivity a thousand meters up into the atmosphere. Over thirty six hours had passed before the locals were evacuated from the nearest settlement of Pripjat. In the weeks and months that followed, more than 67,000 people were relocated from their homes in affected areas.

This elegiac novel is the story of what came after. Contaminated food metallic water, poisonous rain, disfigured progeny, and the slow-dying bereaved that the dead left behind. Weddings were called off, babies aborted, crops burnt, home and hearth deserted. Even as the light went out of the lives of the people in Ukraine, radioactive showers travelled across borders in Europe. Told in the voices of the nuclear disaster's many victims, Voices from Chernobyl recounts how their bodies, lives and loves, realities and memories were distorted forever, and how the very air around them irrevocably changed.

Download Voices from Chernobyl PDF Voices from Chernobyl PDF
Download Voices from Chernobyl ERUB Voices from Chernobyl PDF
Download Voices from Chernobyl DOC Voices from Chernobyl PDF
Download Voices from Chernobyl TXT Voices from Chernobyl PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook Voices from Chernobyl read Online! Ingrid Storholmen debuterte i 2001 med "Krypskyttarloven" og fikk stor oppmerksomhet både for denne og for sin neste samling "Skamtalen. Graceland" (2005). Hun utarbeidet "Skamtalen. Graceland" til en forestilling/performance i samarbeid med instruktør, musiker og scenograf. Hun har også skrevet "Sirispelet", en slags mediterende monolog.

Hennes neste diktsamlinger er "Siriboka" (2007) og "Til kjærlighetens pris" (2011). "Tsjernobylfortellinger" (2009), Storholmens første prosabok, fikk flotte kritiker, og hun ble nominert til blant annet Brageprisen og Kritikerprisen. Boken er utkommet på engelsk i India. Hun er blitt tildelt Bokhandlernes forfatterstipend 2010, Sultprisen 2010 og Tanums kvinnestipend 2011. "Mora som glemte at det var kveld" (2012) var hennes første barnebok.

"Her lå Tirpitz" (2014) er hennes andre roman. Det tyske slagskipet Tirpitz lå lenge i Fættefjorden, ikke langt fra der Storholmen vokste opp. Hver gang familien passerte stedet, sa de voksne: «Her lå Tirpitz.» Dette minnet ble utgangspunktet for boken.

Reviews of the Voices from Chernobyl


My life was divided into two halves: before and after reading the book!


Perfect Design and content!


All right, thanks fast.


You need to be clear about what this book is for and what it can give you.


Another one-time book, but it was interesting.

Add a comment

Download EBOOK Voices from Chernobyl by Ingrid Storholmen Online free

PDF: voices-from-chernobyl.pdf Voices from Chernobyl PDF
ERUB: voices-from-chernobyl.epub Voices from Chernobyl ERUB
DOC: voices-from-chernobyl.doc Voices from Chernobyl DOC
TXT: voices-from-chernobyl.txt Voices from Chernobyl TXT